Wednesday, February 5, 2020

North America's Most CHALLENGING Rally

Dirtfish Video of SnoDrift Rally 2020.. enjoy

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

FIA inspection confirms WRC RALLY SWEDEN 2020 is GO, GO, GO,!!!

04-FEB-2020; Next week’s Rally Sweden (13 – 16 February), the second round of the FIA World Rally Championship, will go ahead following a positive inspection of the event route by the FIA on Tuesday.
Following unseasonably warm weather in the Värmland region of Sweden and across the border in Norway, FIA sporting delegate Timo Rautiainen inspected the special stages to check the conditions for the WRC’s only pure winter round.
His report was discussed by Rally Sweden organisers, the FIA, WRC Promoter and manufacturer teams this evening (Tuesday) and a route proposal has been agreed.
The rally will include competitive action on all four days as originally scheduled, with a modified itinerary to be finalised by organisers. The new timetable will feature about 180km of spectacular speed tests and full championship points will be awarded.
The rally will open on Thursday night with the traditional start ceremony and head-to-head special stage at the fan-favourite Karlstad trotting track.
Friday will feature a morning pass over Norway’s Hof-Finnskog and Finnskogen stages and the Nyckelvattnet test across the border in Sweden. The day will be completed by the Torsby Sprint stage, which finishes at the entrance to the popular event service park.
Saturday will follow an identical route and two passes over the Likenas stage will complete the event on Sunday. The second run through Likenas will form the live TV Wolf Power Stage.
“It’s fantastic to be able to confirm Rally Sweden will go ahead,” said event CEO Glenn Olsson.
“Many people have worked extremely hard over the last few days so that we can reach this position, and I’m delighted that fans, TV viewers and competitors will be able to enjoy one of the WRC’s most spectacular and fastest fixtures.
“We will welcome fans into the forests as planned. Those who are unable to attend the event in person will be able to enjoy live global TV coverage on Saturday and Sunday, as well as the live streaming of all stages on WRC+ All Live.”

Hayden Paddon lays out 2020 plans

"It’s going to be a busy year as we target 3 rally championships – New Zealand, Asia Pacific and Pacific Cup Championships. Our AP4 has had a freshen up with some new updates and an updated team livery to tackle the following rallies with both Samantha Gray and John Kennard in the co-driver’s seat. We will also convert the car to its 800bhp, big winged (as pictured) beast for several single venue/hillclimb events" said Paddon:
March 7/8 – Ben Nevis Golden 1200 Hillclimb
April 3/5 – Rally Otago
May 8/10 – Rally Whangarei
June 20 – Rally South Canterbury
July 25 – Rally Hawkes Bay
September – Ashley Forest Rallysprint
October – Waimate 50 Sprint
November 28/29 – Coffs Harbour Rally, Australia

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Rally Sweden is a go depite lack of snow


The organisation behind Rally Sweden (13 - 16 February) is running at full speed in preparation for the second round of the FIA World Rally Championship which is to be held in the Värmland region of Sweden and across the border in Norway.

Despite the recent unseasonably warm weather, rally organisers are confident the current forecasts of colder weather ahead, will bring frozen roads and also some snow before the event.

Rally Sweden CEO Glenn Olsson spent last week at the WRC season-opening Rallye Monte-Carlo consulting with key stakeholders, the FIA and WRC Promoter, as well as with the manufacturer teams, over the current conditions and the various scenarios foreseen.
Both the FIA and WRC Promoter gave their unanimous support for Rally Sweden to continue provided the weather conditions allow for the safe running of the event.
“We will continuously report and consult with the FIA and WRC Promoter and if the weather develops as the forecast, we don’t see any problems in running the event as planned,” said Olsson.
“The weather is unfortunately one aspect of the rally we can’t control, but our entire organisation is working hard to prepare for another great edition of Rally Sweden for both competitors and fans,” he added.